Media Maven Awards

Media Maven Awards

The media maven awards celebrate alumni of the Writing Fellows program who have meaningfully contributed to advancing the understanding of liberty through print or online journalism. These communicators offer vital reporting and share information with large audiences, helping to bring diverse opinions and a liberty-minded worldview to the news.

Each year, the AF team selects a Rising Star Award, given to someone new in their career already making waves; and a Career Achievement Award, given to a communicator that, though under 40, has accomplished great advances in the cause of communicating liberty. 

Previous Media Maven winners include:


Career Achievement Award: Gabby Orr

Rising Star Award: Amanda Kieffer


Career Achievement Award: Jared Meyer

Rising Star Award: Natalie Dowzicky


Career Achievement Award: Philip Wegmann

Rising Star Award: Bradley Polumbo